Bottle of the Week Tertre du Moulin Saint Emilion Red Bordeaux 2012

Bordeaux is probably one of my favorite varieties of wine. “Why?” you might ask. When a Bordeaux is done right, it is soooo right. Bordeaux is my go to wine whenever I encounter someone who is “not a red wine drinker”. Let’s be honest here, who doesn’t drink red wine? Nobody I want to know. For a little anecdotal evidence, a good friend of mine surprised me one evening while we were out to dinner, when I suggested we split a bottle of wine, by saying “I only drink Sauvignon Blanc”. Well, that was just unacceptable so I convinced her to try a bottle of my choosing, and I chose a Bordeaux (not the one featured here), which she loved. Slowly but surely she began to branch out into different red wine varieties, and my mission was accomplished.   

I always enjoy trying different Bordeauxs, and the Saint Emilion Bordeaux was completely new to me, unlike last week’s bottle. A little background about Bordeaux, it is a blend generally made up of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Cabernet Franc grapes. There are three different types of Bordeaux blends, the Right Bank Bordeaux, made from grapes grown in the Libournais region, the Left Bank Bordeaux, which is made from grapes grown in the Médoc and Graves regions, and then there is the White Bordeaux. Today, however, we will focus on the red.

FullSizeRender (8)
I opened the Tertre du Moulin Saint Emilion Red Bordeaux, 2012 vintage, and poured myself a glass, which sat on the counter for about five minutes while I prepared my usual dinner-for-one of various roasted vegetables and rice. It is a Right Bank Blend, so its main grape is a Merlot. It’s a medium red color with cherry, raspberry, and maybe a little bit of pepper on the nose. Both acidity and tannins I would say are medium high. This bottle is a medium body wine, yet still pretty bold, characteristic of a wine from the Libournais region. As far as taste goes, it has a little bit of an earthy and oaky flavor to it, but more red fruit flavors. I wouldn’t say the balance is perfect, but it is decent for the price, which I recall being somewhere around $14. I gave the wine some more time to open up, but it didn’t change much. That being said, this is as good of a wine as any to drink if you are trying to impress someone who doesn’t know much about wine. So, next time you are invited to a last minute dinner party, scamper over to your local wine store, or Trader Joe’s (that’s where I bought this bottle) and grab one. Since Bordeaux is one of my favorites, and because I always have high hopes when I find a new bottle, I would give it a 3.5 rating.

One thought on “Bottle of the Week Tertre du Moulin Saint Emilion Red Bordeaux 2012

Leave a Reply

